Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Paparazzi

on April 14, 2008

Jasmine is faster than my camera. Digital cameras are notorious for having a significant lag time between pressing the shutter button and taking the actual picture. Auto focus, auto flash, auto everything just slows down the process. So out of every 20 to 30 shots, I might get ONE that I like–that is, one that isn’t blurry or full of movement, that actually includes Jasmine in the picture, that actually captures what I was trying to capture. When I get ONE of those pictures, I post it to Flickr.

Every day, I see Jasmine doing cute stuff that I just can’t capture in a photo. Either the dog is too fast, I’m too slow, or it just isn’t one of those times that I have a camera at hand. She tilts her head and looks at me just so, or she rolls around the floor being a goofball…and I miss the shot. She’s happy and rompy and playful, and as soon as I reach for the camera, I become the ultimate buzzkill. She looks at me like I’m invading a private moment, and her “serious” face comes on. That’s why you haven’t seen a “smiling” dog picture of Jasmine. She doesn’t ham for the camera.

I feel like I’m the paparazzi pursuing the elusive Jasmine…waiting for that one moment that I can capture in perpetuity. Of course, hundreds of those moments are embedded in my heart, but I’d love to be able to share them with others. Roll over, Jasmine! Good dog! 🙂

Typical Jasmine Photo

Leave a Reply

