Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Crafting For Dogs

on March 31, 2008

Jasmine looking spiffy

As an artist and crafter, I can’t help but create cute stuff for Jasmine. While we were in Maui, we happened upon a little pet boutique in the town of Paia. Inside were cute treats, toys and accessories. I loved the different collars and leashes, but the first thing that came into mind was “I can make that!”

So I did. I found the proper hardware on the Internet. I had some great sushi print fabric that I had been saving for just this kind of occasion. And Jasmine is now sporting a spiffy new collar and leash.

I love creating things, and crafting for Jasmine has been SO much fun. She has a plethora of fluffy, soft pillows with washable pillow covers, blankets to keep her warm, and a spiffy dog paw print coat for walks on chilly days. I do draw the line at “doggie outfits” although my husband would beg to differ (a fleece coat does NOT a frufru outfit make). I would have made her some toys IF she liked toys, but this far, stuffed soft figures have not appealed to her.

I wrote up some detailed instructions on how to make the dog collar and leash set on a new blog–What I Made. Hope you can make one for your precious pooch…it was really lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

