Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Learning How To Play

on March 27, 2008

Jasmine still doesn’t play–much.  The two weeks with her “vacation” family were good for her in that regard.  She learned a little bit about playing from the resident dog.  When the dog was chewing on its squishy fish toy, Jasmine started to chew on a rope toy.  Since she’s been home, she has played with her rope toy every day–albeit, only for a few minutes at a time.  It’s progress.  Jasmine also gets very frisky in the morning or after naps…she appears to want to play, but when I try to engage her, she just looks at me.  She just doesn’t know what to do.  I try to show her (I’m sure glad there’s no one around watching me), but I think it takes dog-to-dog play to really imprint.  It’s kind of funny at times.  I roll a ball to her, and she looks at it.  Sometimes it rolls into her.  She sniffs it and looks at me with a “what do you expect ME to do” look.  Dachshunds are really good at that look. 🙂

Jasmine’s favorite game right now is “climb on mom.”  I was laying on the floor last night, when Jasmine came up, climbed on my back and hunkered down on my butt.  I guess it was a soft, warm place to be. 🙂  She promptly fell asleep, and admonished me with a sad look when I finally roused her and got up.  Dachshunds are really good at that sad look as well. 😉

One response to “Learning How To Play

  1. MA says:

    Hahahha.. that’s really funny.. my little Kona does the same thing.. he’ll climb up on my butt and fall asleep and when I finally rouse him up, he gives this little groan and a sad look… which he’s really good… and of course, it melts my heart each time 🙂

Leave a Reply

