Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

EARLY Morning Dog

on March 3, 2008

A few months ago, I suspected that Jasmine is a “morning” dog.  Horror of all horrors, I actually have an EARLY morning dog.

My husband gets up at 5:30 a.m. to get ready for work.  After showering and dressing, he takes Jasmine out for her morning business and then fixes her breakfast (which, unfortunately, she doesn’t eat until I get up).  He leaves for work, and she comes running down the hallway to the bedroom where I am sleeping.  Well, not really.  The sound of thundering hooves and jingling tags usually is enough to wake me up.

She jumps and scratches on the side of the bed, welcoming me to a new morning.  She whines and jumps, running from one side of the bed to the other.  I have tried playing “possum” and not moving or making a sound–one time for over 30 minutes.  She doesn’t waver in her determination to wake me up.   I have even tried picking her up and snuggling with her in bed.  No dice.  She squirms and sniffs and rolls around.

As soon as I’m up, her tail wags and she jumps with glee.  Mom’s up!  She goes tearing down the hallway and waits for me to enter the kitchen.  She then proceeds to wolf down her food.

While I’m not really thrilled about getting up at 6:15 a.m., it’s so wonderful to be greeted every morning by a happy, smiling dog.  You can’t be grumpy when a dog looks at you with love and joy.  You just can’t.

2 responses to “EARLY Morning Dog

  1. Maribeth says:

    I have found that under the same circumstances a happy dachshund jumping on your head can pull out your hair! LOL! I have two, one year olds who do this nearly every morning!

  2. Debbie says:

    I have a break of dawn dachshund too. It’s hard cause she wakes up the older one who is happy to sleep. Luckily after a 5:30 am breakfast I can get them to go back to bed till 7:30.

    I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

