Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Was She Mad at Me?

on February 29, 2008

For the last few days, Jasmine has been peeing in the house.  I could have understood a “stealth” pee if I had neglected to take her outside in a timely fashion.  She has been squatting in full view of me at very odd times–mainly when I’ve been busy with household chores and not paying full attention to her.  However, I was sitting on the couch the other day, and she started going on the carpet about 6 feet in front of me.  I tried to stop her and admonished her, but instead of cutting her off, she started moving away, leaving a nice little trail behind her.  I quickly got her to go outside, but by then, she was bone dry.  She did this for three days in a row, but has since ceased.

I wonder if she was showing some of her unhappiness at my recent absences or if she just doesn’t understand that it’s not acceptable to go inside.  When I ask her to go outside, she happily runs outside and does her “business.”  However, she’s never provided us with any cues to her needing to go outside.  She doesn’t bark.  She only whines when she wants me up in the morning or if I’m in the shower and she wants my attention.

I’m not sure what spurred this recent round of broken house-training, but I’m hoping that she’s over whatever caused it and we can continue to have a relatively pee-free house.

2 responses to “Was She Mad at Me?

  1. Erin says:

    My rescue dachshund Charlie is the same way–he’ll whine in the morning to wake me up and take him outside and also when I’m in the shower, but other than that he doesn’t really give any hints that he needs to go out. I really just have to make sure that I’m taking him out regularly. It sounds to me like Jasmine might be letting you know that she doesn’t like your leaving her for long periods–it sounds like she’s very attached to you. Charlie has extreme separation anxiety, and he has, on occasion, had an accident in the house after we return home, even though we always take him out immediately. It’s like he’ll wait until we come back inside and then sneak somewhere and go! Separation anxiety can be so tough, but it sounds like Jasmine just keeps getting more and more comfortable in your home, so hopefully soon this behavior will too be a thing of the past!

  2. CeliaSue says:

    cici has on occasion peed while no one is looking, steathily… don’t know why either… she goes out all the time, she tells me when she wants/needs to go out usually and lately I have been getting her to go out even if she is not sitting by the door waiting for her personal doorwoman, me, to open it for her… I read some place that they are marking their territory, even girl dogs do that… it was suggested to clean it up with vinegar and water to stop the behavior but this has not worked… it seemed to clean it up, but she peed a couple of times since then, so now I put some cardboard boxes on the spot where she was doing it and am crossing my fingers hoping she does not go anywhere else …

Leave a Reply

