Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Home Again, Home Again

on February 26, 2008

Oh, it feels so good to be home after all this travel and work. Jasmine agrees.

My husband brought her to the airport when he picked me up. He pulled up to the curb, and as I was walking towards the trunk, little Jasmine spotted me from her fluffy pillow in the back seat. Her ears perked up, and she started to cry. I got in the car, and she jumped up and down and cried again. When we got home, she was jumping around me and wagging her tail for joy. It was such a wonderful welcome home.

Yesterday, she followed me everywhere and did not let me out of her sight. Well, she generally does follow me wherever I go, but this was different. She also slept like she hadn’t slept in a week.  She went for a walk with me without a struggle, and she merrily ate all her food.  She even knocked on the shower door, itching for attention and a connection.  Today, she impatiently woke me at 6:30 a.m. and happily ate her breakfast with me.  How much joy a little doggie face can bring astounds me.

My husband says that she just tolerates him…that she’s MY dog.  I think she wants to be friends with him, but whatever happened to her in the past keeps getting in the way.  She goes near him because she knows he wants to give her love and treats, but the wariness she has for him (and all men) is daunting.  However, she had made progress with him.  She comes to him (when they are alone together) for pets and treats.  She allows him to take her out for walks and potty breaks.  Two months ago, that wasn’t the case.  While I see forward progress, my husband is a bit frustrated that she’s still skittish around him.  I’m not sure she will ever be 100% comfortable around any man, but I believe that their time alone together has strengthened their bond.

The next separation will be during our annual vacation.  Jasmine will be spending time with our friends again.  This time, she’ll be in a somewhat familiar home, cohabiting once again with another family–our friends, their two kids, the family dog and two cats.  Another chance for her to socialize and learn that love comes in many forms.  Once again, I’ll miss her terribly…

Leave a Reply

