Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Away From Home

on February 15, 2008

I have been out of town for the last week on business. Jasmine had a lot of adjustments to make–she was home alone with my husband all week.

For the first 2 1/2 days, Jasmine wouldn’t eat. She shunned the food that my husband left for her, and she cowered and ran away from him. She even hid from him when it was time for bed–so well, in fact, that my husband couldn’t find her one night. He finally spotted her hiding place the next night–behind the living room curtains! Smart doggie! 🙂

I was worried about how she would do while I was gone. This was my first trip away with my husband home taking care of her. I was really hoping that the two of them would bond and get used to one another.  Well, I’m happy to report that Jasmine will now eat when he’s in the room, she comes up to him for pets, and she looks at him expectantly for treats.  She still hid from him this morning when he went to take her out, but we’ve taken a giant step towards a relationship between the two.  I’m back on the road on Tuesday, so I’m hoping that they will continue to bond and build a lasting friendship.  I can tell they both want it!

2 responses to “Away From Home

  1. Melissa says:

    It must be difficult to have to be out of town, worrying about Jasmine, who I imagine you love as anyone would their child.

  2. MA says:

    Yay for Jasmine and your hubby!!!

Leave a Reply

