Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

We Change, She Advances

on January 27, 2008

Last week, my husband resumed taking Jasmine out for her morning business and feeding her in the morning.  He had been dismayed that he wasn’t making more progress with her, and I pointed out that he had reduced the amount of interaction he had with her.  So, he’s been leashing her in the morning, taking her out and fixing her breakfast.

In the past, she would leave the meal he made for her until I got up and joined her.  My husband also used to leave her enclosed in the kitchen.  This past week, he’s left her in the house of her own accord, and she has been running back into the bedroom to wake me up.  Of course, I’ve been ignoring her because I don’t want to encourage her whining.  When she has calmed down and has stopped whining, I then get up and greet her.

During this “alone” time, she has started to run back into the kitchen.  She has finally started to eat without my having to be around for her to feel safe.  Tonight, we went out to dinner, and I left her dinner for her to eat while we were gone.   She did.  BIG progress for her.

As we learn what her needs are and make small adjustments to help her, I see the results in both large ways and small.  She now takes cheese from my husband’s hand in the morning–she never would before and would even refuse to eat her favorite treat where he left it until I came in the room.  Baby steps, but important ones for us all.

Leave a Reply

