Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Doggie Pilates

on January 18, 2008

Since Jasmine has been reluctant to go for walks with me, I’ve had to find other fitness activities.  I have a few old fitness tapes that have been gathering dust over the years, and I’ve been cycling through them to see which ones I like.  A couple of days ago, I tried the “8 Minute” series–Abs, Arms, Buns, Legs.  Today, I tried Pilates.

Jasmine thinks that when I’m on the floor, I’m “fair game.”  While I was trying to do the stretches and holds today, she decided that climbing on my stomach was the right thing to do.  When I was doing leg lifts, she decided that licking my face was a fun exercise.  Throughout the 42 minute tape, she was climbing on me, over me, under me and stuffing her little nose in my hand whenever she could.  I could hardly keep my breath from laughing.  It certainly made the exercises harder to do, but it also made exercising so much more fun to do.

Now, all I have to do is to come up with a new exercise regimen–Doggie Pilates.  How to exercise with your dog.  Yup.  I think it would be a best-seller.

Leave a Reply

