Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Bath Time!

on January 13, 2008

I had been taking Jasmine to Petco for grooming since I didn’t want her to imprint another negative experience (ala “Mom makes me walk near those evil dachshunds across the street so I won’t walk with Mom anymore”).  I had given her a bath at home once before, and she shivered all through it.  However, she’s been smelling quite “doggy” recently, so I decided to give her a nice warm bath today.

I filled the utility sink with a few inches of water and then picked my little bundle of joy up, removed her collar and gently placed her in.  To my surprise, she didn’t shiver and shake, and she didn’t look like I was about to murder her.  I took my cup and poured the warm water over her, then lathered her up with sweet smelling doggie shampoo.  She seemed to like the doggie massage.  I then used the moisturizing cream rinse on her and gave her a final rinse off.  I drained the water and picked her up in a warm fluffy towel and gently dried her off.  No struggle, no pitiful looks.  I dried her off the best I could and she wagged her tail.  Yes, she wagged her tail!

It’s been cold around here lately.  Maybe she liked the warmth of the water.  Maybe she just liked the attention (not that she is ever in want of attention).  I rewarded her after I dried her off with a nice brushing of her coat (she loves that) and a lovely bone to chew.

I don’t think I’ll go to Petco for any grooming but nail clippings (I still have yet to master that).  I really enjoyed giving her a bath and she seemed to enjoy the process.   Maybe it’s because her trust in me has grown.  Maybe she didn’t like smelling doggy.  Nah, that wasn’t it.  She likes to roll in poop.  “Sweet” smelling is all relative, isn’t it?  🙂

Leave a Reply

