Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Rain Rain Go Away

on January 4, 2008

It’s raining cats and dogs here.  We’re expecting several inches over this weekend and winds up to 70 MPH.

Jasmine doesn’t like sprinklers, let alone rain.  This morning, we went outside for her early morning “business.”  She wouldn’t stay with me under the large golf umbrella and was getting soaked, so I took her over to the side of the house under the covered walkway.  She reluctantly peed but didn’t poop, and she whined the entire time.  I don’t blame her.  I wouldn’t want to have to “go” in these conditions.

Now I have to watch her like a hawk so she doesn’t have an accident inside.  I would have to scold her if she did, but I really hate to blame her…it’s pretty terrible out there today and will be through Sunday.

I wonder what it’s like for people in the snow belt?  How do dachshunds go during a heavy snow storm?  Hm…anyone???

NOON UPDATE: Well, I took Jasmine back to the covered spot (which is pretty wet but still sheltered a bit from the rain), and she pooped.  I praised her and praised her and immediately let her go inside.  She was happy to oblige.  Good doggie!  She has also become a “natural” foot warmer.  Jasmine has taken to sitting on my feet today.  GOOOOOD doggie!!!

3 responses to “Rain Rain Go Away

  1. Dog Lady says:

    My experience is that rain is worse than snow for dogs. They phase into the cold while rain just suddenly comes pelting down from the skies.

    My dog is unphased by snow and cold but hates to venture out in the rain.

  2. ejwines2 says:

    Darwin definitely hates rain moore than snow. Although we have discovered that he will make a small poo in the snow & then make another stealth poo once he gets back inside…watch where you step!

  3. mwdonnelly says:

    Stealth poo?????!!!! AHAHAHAHAHAHA! I know just what you mean! But it’s so funny to attach a name to it. You made me laugh out loud! Thanks!

    I never thought I’d be so concerned over my dog’s bodily functions. Not until I was on my hands and knees with a bottle of Nature’s Miracle and a pile of absorbent towels. 😉

Leave a Reply

