Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

No Dogs on the Bed

on December 17, 2007

My husband was nursing a badly pulled muscle this weekend, so we generally spent the whole weekend trying to keep him off his feet.  He was propped up on the bed, and we just hung out and relaxed (what a change from the chaos of the holidays!).  That meant that Jasmine spent a lot of time in the bedroom–something she never does except to sleep in her crate.  She was confused at first.  “Hey, why aren’t we watching the big TV?  Where’s my fluffy pillow?”  However, Jasmine made the proper adjustments with little stress.  She quickly took possession of my hand-crocheted blanket (my fault, I left it on the floor) and settled in.  However, she kept jumping up and sticking her nose over the edge of the bed to see what we were doing.  So I did what I told myself I wouldn’t do…I let her on the bed.

Well, she was in doggie heaven.  I put her blanket down on the bedspread, and she plopped into it.  Not only did she have our soft, cushy bed to lay on, she had both my husband and I giving her scratches and pets.  Ahhhhh…what a life.  When I got up to leave, she wanted to follow, so I put her back on the floor.  However, from then on, she clearly indicated when she wanted to “come up.”  And when it was really time for bed, she was a bit confused.  “Wait…why do I have to get into my crate when there’s a big, comfy bed?”

I think we’re going back to the No Dogs on the Bed rule.  It would be way too easy for us to spoil her for good! Besides that, she’s a bed hog.   😀

Leave a Reply

