Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Pillow Fluffer

on November 14, 2007

Jasmine loves big, cushy pillows.  Well, who doesn’t? 😀

I’ve made a few poofy pillows out of muslin and fiber fill and covered it with a “baby terrycloth” slip cover.  My crafting skills come in handy in creating disgustingly cute items for my dog.  I do have to admit, I even made a little fleece doggie coat.  It’s white fleece with little paw prints on it.  Hey, she has really short hair, and it gets cold outside, and well, she looks really adorable in her coat…and…um…okay, so it’s sickeningly cute.  Believe me, I don’t believe that dogs are fashion accessories.  My husband, though, shakes his head and chuckles every time I make something new.  But I got off topic, didn’t I?

The funniest thing is Jasmine’s pillow fluffing routine.  Before she snuggles down into the pillow, she has to fluff it.  This includes using her nose to push under the pillow and using her paws and teeth to move the pillow top and poof up the stuffing.  Then, she goes into a typical doggie circuit of turning round and round before settling in.  She has a blanket to match her pink pillow, and she also uses the blanket to create a comfortable nest.  The blanket does double duty for her to hide her bones–very handy to hide those all-important treasures.

Little joys pop up every day.  This is one of them.

Leave a Reply

