Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Lap Dog

on October 8, 2007

We’ve started a new morning routine.  I was having trouble with getting Jasmine to “go” every morning, so hubby is taking her out before he goes to work.  He then leaves her in the kitchen along with her breakfast.  I get up, get dressed and go into the kitchen to start the day.

After I go in, I go and sit down near the kitchen sink with my back to the cabinets.  Jasmine runs up, tail wagging, and hops onto my lap for morning pets.  She then jumps down, eats her breakfast (she won’t touch it until I get there…that’s another issue), and then hops back into my lap.  More pets, and I’m off on my routine (breakfast and to my home office).

Jasmine is getting more affectionate and more like a “normal” dog.  She’s starting to play with her toys, she is chewing on dental bones, she hams it up for treats…oh it’s so nice to see!

Leave a Reply

