Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Thank Goodness for Little Dogs

on August 30, 2007

My father passed away a couple of days ago. We were on our way to Boston to visit family, and when we arrived in Los Angeles for our connecting flight, I turned on my cell phone. I had three voice messages. And I got the news. We were lucky to be able to turn around and fly home without too much trouble.

The next morning, we went to make the funeral arrangements. We then went to pick up Jasmine from the kennel.

Those who say pets reduce our stress levels and enhance our lives are SO right. When we got home late Tuesday/early Wednesday, the house was empty without her. Petting her, taking care of her, having her by my side is so soothing and great. Even though I don’t have much to smile about, she can make me smile just by being herself.

I’m so glad she came to us. While I know that we have given her a much better life, I think we got the better end of the bargain. Words can’t express how much she’s added to our lives.

2 responses to “Thank Goodness for Little Dogs

  1. Stephani says:

    I am very sorry about your Dad.
    Condolences.

  2. domanico says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about your father.

    I’m glad you have Jasmine to comfort you! I think you are absolutely right about pet’s and their ability to sooth and heal.

Leave a Reply

