Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Third Time’s a Charm. NOT!

on August 28, 2007

Yes, Jasmine had to go back to the vet again yesterday. Her left paw, which had been infected, has healed really beautifully. There’s no sign of infection at all. However, I noticed this morning that her right paw was all swollen! NOOOOOOOO! I also noticed a distinct musky/yeasty scent coming off of her that I remember from owning dogs in the past–that “ear infection” smell.

So, off to the vet we went. I really like my vet–Dr. Kirsten Krick at the West Valley Pet Clinic. She’s very gentle with Jasmine, and she seems to do what is in the best interest of the dog while taking cost and impact on the dog’s well being into account.

This time, there wasn’t an infection in the paw. Jasmine apparently was the unfortunate recipient of some kind of insect bite or sting. I had a feeling…there have been lots of bees and wasps in the yard, and they’ve also been hovering amongst the clover in the lawn. I think Jasmine might have stepped on one. Jasmine was treated for both the sting and the ear issues (yeast infection in the ear). She has to go back for a check in a week.

While I really like the vet, I wish we wouldn’t have to go so often!

Leave a Reply

