Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

Socialization

on August 3, 2007

Today, I took Jasmine out for lunch! We went over to my husband’s office. They have a nice patio, complete with shaded tables. We sat down, and Jasmine allowed hubby to feed her cheese! Progress! Other people–all men–joined us, and Jasmine calmly accepted their presence. She was calm, quiet and relaxed. Yay!!!

After that, I went to check out the local PetSmart PetsHotel boarding and day care facility. The kennels are not huge, but clean and sufficient. What I like is that they are all visible by anyone who walks in. There are walk areas and play areas. Basic overnight boarding (feeding, two walks, etc.) is only $23 per day. Doggie day care costs more, but I don’t think she’s well socialized to other dogs, so I might go for a few sessions but not every day. An exit bath is $10. Compared to the $45 per day at other facilities (which provide about the same level of care), it’s a bargain.

We walked around the store, and Jasmine did SO well. I’m trying to get her used to many situations, and although she was a bit stressed (tail tucked some of the time), she handled it well. However, Jasmine doesn’t like sliding glass doors! Eeek! She did let people approach her, though, and even let one of the employees pet her!!!

Our housekeeper came today for our monthly cleaning. Jasmine growled at her, but I corrected her with a “shhhhh” right away and she stopped. I know she’s just protecting her territory, but I also want to let her know that she must stop on my command. She’s a really good doggie! She’s handled everything so well today!

Leave a Reply

