Life with Jasmine and Juliet, Our Rescued Dachshunds

Random notes on our experience with our two rescued miniature dachshunds

The Packing Game

on January 5, 2009

Jasmine is enjoying packing the house.

I’ve generally been down on the floor filling and taping boxes, sorting through items…generally on doggie level.  Jasmine has been climbing all over me–over my calves when I’ve been kneeling, in my lap when I’ve been sitting, and nose to nose when I’ve been bending over.  She’s been doing the “pounce and run,” the “pup-squeak” (she sits right in front of me, pushes off her front paws with her butt still on the ground in a little front hop and squeaks), and the “stealth sniff” all day.

She’s making the drudgery of packing a little fun…she never ceases to make me smile or laugh as I’m grinding through all the stuff we’ve accumulated over the last dozen years of cohabitation and all the crap treasures we brought with us when we moved in together.  She’s my shadow, and I love having her with me–even when she’s getting into things she shouldn’t.  When I look at that little funny face, when she rolls around in front of me demanding a tummy rub…oh, packing isn’t so bad when you have a pal to share the burden.

Doggie love is wonderful.  :-)


One response to “The Packing Game

  1. kate says:

    The “pup-squeak” sounds adorable! I’m glad Jasmine is helping make the packing less tedious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

